Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree.

Although It is believed by some that public libraries are of no importance anymore, other people do not agree with this assertion. I, however think that these librabries are no longer vital. On the one hand, there has been a decline in the number of visits to the library because of the advancing role of technology in making data research more accessible and easy. In other words, as a result of technological evolution, people can now use the internet to source for information without any hassle. Also with the use of this web, one can have access to a vast number of educational websites at the touch of a button unlike the library where one has to walk around going through stacks of books which might be obsolete. For example, one can now get numerous data about any subject from websites like yahoo, wikipedia, drug. com without stress. I believe this school of thought is right because information gotten from libraries might be out of date and can affect a learner's performance. On the other hand, it is thought that public libraries are still vital because it is unaffected by limitation of technology and also books in the library contain original contents. Firstly, books in the library are not affected by situations like poor internet access or power outage which might be the case when computers are used in place of the traditional libraries. Futhermore, in other to prevent getting adulterated information, it is important that these places remain opened. This is because some information sourced from the internet might be incorrect or even false. To conclude, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that the public libraries are no longer as vital as they used to because of the advent of technology.