Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health. Others believe that the Government should make sure that their citizens are healthy.

Owing to the drastic rise in the incidence of chronic diseases nowadays, some individuals are of the opinion that, everyone must be responsible for ensuring that they are healthy. Whereas, some other people disagree with this idea and believe that the onus lies on the Government to ensure that the health of its citizens are well catered for. This essay will discuss the role of both parties in ensuring good health. The state of living free of diseases and being in health is the job of every individual due to the fact that, it requires hardwork, discipline and consistency on the part of the person in order to appreciate the effect on their body. It can be challenging and cumbersome although, but the end result is fulfilling and beneficial to the person. It can involve activities such as; abstinence from some types of food and snacks, exercising regularly, going to the doctor for medical check-up and a few of others. All of these cannot be enforced on anyone, hence the need for everone to rise up to this task. On the other hand, the Government also has a role to play in assisting their citizens to live healthy, because some people do not have the financial capacity to fund hospital bills, register at a gym or even eat good food. As a result, they become prone to several kinds of illnesses and diseases. Therefore, a good step in the right direction on the Government's part will be to subsidise all the above mentioned activities. For instance, the US president has made available a medicare card for all Americans, thus covering for their basic health needs. Therefore, every US citizen has easy access to good health care. In conclusion, while it is the role of every individual to take care of their health, the Government also should help so as to ensure everyone lives in good health.