Many people say that cooking and eating at home is better for individuals and the family than eating out in restaurants or canteens.

Throughout the last fifty years, the number and the variety of places serving meals has been dramatically increasing in most cities of the world. Therefore, it is debated whether domestic or restaurant food should be preferred. Whilst I broadly agree that home cooking is better than dining out, I have a number of reservations about this. Without doubt, eateries need to make their menu appealing in order to attract customers. It goes without saying that marketing strategies not always lead to healthy choices. First and foremost, a recent chemical analysis of several aliments reveals that addictive stimulants are routinely added to restaurant food and drinks. Secondly, the amount of salt and fats used by some dining facilities not only enriches the taste of their dishes, but also raise concerns to the public. For instance, it has been demonstrated that an excessively salty and fatty diet is detrimental to blood pressure and cholesterol levels. Moreover, dining out might encourage people to eat more than their needs as seen in sushi train and all-you-can-eat restaurants. Admittedly, it is quite reasonable to argue that restaurants create employment. In addition, eating out is more convenient than preparing food at home. However, the time spent for grocery shopping, cooking and cleaning can be an occasion for families to share responsabilities and time toghether. For example, cooking with my wife is for me one of the sweetest part of the day. In summary, both home cooking and food facilities carry some advantages for individuals and community. However, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks of preparing meal at home should never be allowed to overshadow with its merits.