People naturally resist making changes in their lives. What kinds of problems can this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Many people are afraid to make any life changing decisions. The main problem this causes is that people are unable to get rid of their bad habits and the most viable solution is that they can overcome this fear of change by increasing their knowledge. The principle problem associated with people afraid to bring about any change in their lives is that they are used to certain habits. Many individuals adopt bad habits like, smoking and drinking, and although they acknowledge their harmful effects, they are very happy to continue doing it because they find it comforting. The result of this is that people are more prone to many health problems, like obesity and diabetes, later in life. For example, according to the survey conducted by the American Health association, 40% of the general public have a habit of eating pizzas and burgers, even though they know that junk food is unhealthy. To tackle the problem, people should be encouraged to start reading and increase their knowledge. By gathering more information about the effects of their habits, people would be able to understand and adopt the changes they are good for them. This will undoubtedly have a positive effect on their mentality and they will be more comfortable to make those changes. For instance, a smoker is likely to stop smoking if he researches the harm that smoking does to his body. In conclusion, change is natural and people who resist it are only harming themselves by continuing some of their unhealthy habits, however the problem can be addressed by encouraging people to read more and, thus improve themselves.