Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

Many people argue that teaching student the literature and history of their own country will be better instead of other countries. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea because both of them play the equal roles in children’s development. On the one hand, teaching national literature in school gain a host of advantages. Firstly, the local literature assists student to enhance vocabulary and improve capability of using native languages. Students can learn grammar, formal language and the way to present the ideal, . . . from books and literary. For instance, To Hoai – one of the most famous author writes about daily life, his writing is extremely attractive and the usage of words very profound and subtle. One of his works was included in secondary school curriculum, and children can easily absorb and use his knowledge in communication and writing. Secondly, students will understand deeply about the tradition and culture of their own country through history and literature, so that will help to develop their patriotism. As a stark example, a literary always reflex the historical events which were according to the real heroes in the past, such as “ Thanh Giong, Yet Kieu, …” make children feel more proud of their country. On the other hand, it is also necessary to teach literature works of other countries in the study program. First of all, if students have the opportunities to approach the culture and tradition of other nations, they will sooner or later aware of the diversity in the world and can avoid culture shock when working or studying abroad. Moreover, learning about different cultures can extend the knowledge of children and they will have many different perspectives on one issue. In conclusion, I personally believe that both national and international literature and history should be applied in the school’s curriculum so that students can develop comprehensively.