Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries.

It is sometimes argued that it is more necessary for students to study local books and events than the global literature and history. While I agree that the teaching of national novels and historical events is essential, studying the ideas, culture and history of other countries is equally important. The main reason why covering aspects of books and events of their own country is necessary is that it develops children’s patriotism. In the literature book of Vietnamese third-graders, pupils have a chance to read the fairy tale about Thanh Giong. In this way, they can understand how Vietnamese heroes protected the nation from invaders and the challenges that our ancestors faced in the past. As a result, young people at primary school age will always feel grateful for their ancestors’ contributions to our country. Therefore, they will be inspired to study hard and make efforts to contribute to the development of Vietnam. The teaching of foreign literature and history also plays a vital role in the curriculum. Learning about international books and events that took place around the world allows students to improve their knowledge and develop global citizenship at an early age. When they study about Western countries’ literature and history, they can realize the cultural differences between Vietnam and other parts of the world. In addition, early exposure to foreign novels and historical events is a good preparation for children’s ability to integrate with outside the world. For example, when they have chances to study abroad or work for an international organization, they can adapt to new surroundings easily and avoid culture shocks. In conclusion, in order to develop children’s patriotism and ensure a bright future for them, it is essential to educate children about both national and international literature and history.