Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country rather than the literature and history of other countries

Nowadays, there are more and more female students enrolling art classes while males tend to opt for science subjects. There exist several obvious reasons behind this tendency and I believe that it should be altered in some circumstances. First of all, students’ preferences in different classes can be attributed to the requirements in each field. Generally, females with vivid imagination are more likely to take part in art courses, while science subjects such as physics or mathematics need considerable analytical abilities and logical thinking which are among the strengths of male students. Moreover, science-related fields require more physical abilities, concentration than others. For example, to successfully obtain a diploma in a medical course, a person needs to pass many exams including tons of experiments and dissertations to hand in and he or she is also overwhelmed with a lot of assignments within a short amount of time. However, I am of the opinion that this trend should be slightly changed. First and foremost, some science subjects are more suitable for girls than the opposite sex, which are classes requiring patience and meticulous preparation. Nursery perfectly exemplifies this reason. When a person wants to learn to become a nurse, especially when he or she has to care for the elderly, this person has to be considerate and take heed of even minor things. Furthermore, students should have free choices to choose their future paths. It is evident that nowadays some are learning particular subjects in schools or colleges just because of their parents’ wishes. This may cause resentment and discourage the students’ performances. In conclusion, the upsurge in the number of males entering science classes along with females’ participation in art fields can be understandable due to the aforementioned reasons and some alternation should be made to this tendency.