Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

Learning literature is an indispensable part of academic life of children. There is always a debate on this debate whether education about these written works of native place or another must be imparted to a child. According to my opinion, teaching local literature is a necessity. To begin with, literature aids an individual to know about the culture of his respective region. For an instance, being a Punjabi, I must have knowledge about the origin of Punjab, Sikhism and freedom fighters of my native region. Without knowing about our roots, we cannot enjoy life to the fullest. It is as important as the history of our ancestors. Absence of family name means loss of identity and one cannot survive without that. Furthermore, there is a direct relationship between a country's economy and its tourism industry. To boost that, data and facts regarding base of any country are a must. We can only answer if we know that. If a foreigner pay visit to a tourist spot ask you about certain artefacts and history of that location, and you Have no answer, then it creates very negative expression. Hence, to improve the nation's economic condition, literature education is required. On the other hand, understanding of other nation's literature is must when one wants to study and settle there. For an instance, my cousin went to Montreal, a Canadian province. Initially he was in trouble as he was not aware of the local customs and culture of that area. But after reading the literature of Montreal, he is leading a peaceful life there. To conclude, though knowledge of literature of another country is required when you want to live there, but local literature is more vital for us and hence children must study it in schools.