Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries.

Some people argue that traditional literature has greater influences on children’ development than foreign literature. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this point of view. On the one hand, there is little doubt that locally written works have various benefits for pupils. Through learning literature of their mother tongue, students have chances to enrich skills of using their own language, such as the flexibility of the vocabulary used or the different ways to convey ideas. As a result, this would be advantageous for children not only in their study but also in social communication in their future. In addition, traditional literature can help students gain deeper insights into their own cultures. This reason is that some works of arts, namely fairy tales or legends could familiarize them with the national traditions and values. This, consequently, will develop a sense of identity and patriotism for children. On the other hand, I suppose that learning foreign literature is also beneficial for young people in several ways. Firstly, pupils will have opportunities to broaden their horizons by showing them a bigger picture of the world. It is undeniable that having access to foreign historical events and cultures would foster children’s awareness of the world’s diversity. Secondly, youngsters could be more prepared for the globalized world since they have acquired a wide range of knowledge about how to adapt themselves in terms of manners, customs and behaviors when they live in a foreign environment or deal with foreigners. In conclusion, although I agree that traditional literature plays a vital role in the development of children, I would believe that the contribution of other countries’ literature is equally important and should not be overlooked.