It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is little doubt that in many countries, the number of senior people is growing steadily, and this is predicted to continue in the future. While I agree that this trend can bring several benefits to the society, I would argue that it has more disadvantages for many reasons. On the one hand, it is undeniable that aged citizens are more experienced and can contribute significantly to counselling young people. The reason is that they are able to give a variety of useful advice and instructions for younger generations thanks to their extensive experience. In addition, these days, parents usually have such a hectic schedule that they cannot spend much time with their children. As a result, grandparents could help take care of and raise their grandchildren in a family environment. This, consequently, would definitely make a great contribution in enhancing the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren. On the other hand, I suppose that this trend causes more drawbacks for both government and individuals. Firstly, the higher proportion of aged people might be a strain on the national budget, as government needs to allocate resources to medical care and retirement fund. Secondly, the labor force also suffers from the growing number of older citizens due to the shortage of productive workers. As a consequence, the economic progress might be affected negatively. Last but not least, the aging population could pose a burden on families since parents need to take care of older family members. In conclusion, although the remarkable increase in life expectancy has some positive impacts to the society, I would believe that its drawbacks are much greater.