Some people believe that it is better to spend more money to eliminate the cause of crime, while others think that the government should spend more on punishment.

In the recent times, the society is suffering from the soaring rate of crime all around the world. Some intellectuals opine to devote more fiscal resources to prevent the root of the offences, whereas others consider that the penalty for the crime must get stringent. This essay will discuss both the views of the above notion along with my opinion. To begin with, the former view of eliminating the origins of the crime is predominantly key to decline the rate of crime. This practice will not only reduce the episodes of offences, but also eradicate it from the community. Moreover, there are many circumstances and elements are there in the society, which provoke the people toward the atrocity. The local administrations have to identify such causes of the misdeeds and try to eliminate it by using fiscal and monetary policies. For instance, in many developing countries, the exorbitant poverty and unemployment escalate the victims towards robbery, prostitution and fraud. Therefore, a practice to reduce the origin of the crime is more effective for the prosperity of the society. However, according to the latter view, the characteristics of rewarding such culprits must be modified and the legislation should form the stringent policies to create fear in the lawbreakers. The strict punishment of the offences puts a psychological pressure of the intentions of the evildoers. As a result, the potential incidents of the crime can be reduced. For example, the gulf countries having the extreme penalties revealed the minimal crime rate in their nations. Thus, the lawmakers have to come forward to stop such illegal activities by using radical punishments. To conclude, to build the society more civilized, the authorities must have to conduct strict actions to deter the crime rates. In my opinion, the government should use the optimistic view to fade out the roots of the offences, which will benefit the large mass of the society as well as reconsider the legislation with provisions of the strict penalties.