Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a new language, belonging to another land, is not an easy task. According to one group of people, students should be taught new tongues at primary schools while others think that secondary schools are the best place to learn a new language. This essay will discuss why primary schools are better than secondary schools to acquire the knowledge of language other than native one. First and foremost, children have more active brain in comparison to adults which could help them to process new information at faster rate. Moreover, they can be more fluent by imbibing all basics of another language such as lexical resource and pronunciation which would have been challenging otherwise for an adult. For instance, a person who always has been practicing his mother tongue could not resist its influence on words of new language while speaking. Secondly, when children start learning new language, cognitive abilities could be improved such as logical thinking, decision making and communication skills. To illustrate, as per the results from one survey conducted in the UK, children who know more languages can solve puzzles with more accuracy due to their faster decision making. Although pupils can get command on second language by learning it in secondary school, they would mix it up with their native language. Furthermore, they have to put more efforts not to adulterate their mother tongue. For instance, a native English speaker while taking Spanish language classes, should not make same ‘s’ sound in both languages. In conclusion, children can gain more benefits by learning a new language at younger age in comparison to later years of life. So they must get various classes at primary schools to become competent in different languages. In conclusion, children can gain more benefits by learning a new language at younger age in comparison to later years of life. So they must get various classes at primary schools to become competent in different languages.