Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Educating foreign language to the primary kids is advised by some experts compared to the secondary schoolers. While this means that the primary students has more subjects to learn, I believe the benefits are more significant as they would improve their linguistic skills. The main drawback is that the student may end up confused by the many languages that they have yet to understand, in addition to their mother tongue. The reason for this is that most kids of age 6 - 10 years are still in the progress of developing deeper understanding of its own native language. For example, grammar in English is different from how the sentence is structured in Chinese. Therefore, these children may get even more confused in forming a more complex sentences; let alone idioms, proverbs and academic terminologies. On the other hand, one major advantage is that primary students tend to have fewer subjects compared to secondary schools. The older kids have more complex subjects, like Higher Math, Physics, and Biology, which are more challenging compared to primary school subjects like writing, reading, basic math. While most of these subjects are just introductory, it will eventually pick up their interest and teachers may suggest to these kids to explore additional classes after the school ends. In addition to that, primary students who are interested, are starting very early in their life. The fact that of older age, it is challenging to understand foreign language; thus, this gives a significant advantages to these kids. For example, adults language class are normally slower due to the cognitive ability of adults are slower and other things in their mind. Consequently, those who starts early have a substantial headstart. In conclusion, I believe the advantages are of greater significance that the advantages. Despite the fact that they may have confusion when learning these languages, they will gain a lot more advantages in their linguistic skill when they are older. Given this situation, it is recommended that schools should encourage primary students to learn languages other than their natives.