Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the majority of a child's brain develops in the initial years. While many think kids should learn a different language early in school. I believe young age is a perfect time to play sports and build lasting fitness habits. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, the disadvantages of learning a foreign language in primary school are the pressure and not having time for other activities. For instance, when children start primary school, they are new to everything. It is hard for them to even focus on subjects like science and mathematics. If we teach them a new language, they might crumble under the pressure. In addition, the young age is essential for all-round development. Students should pay attention to sports and fitness as well. This will ensure, they understand the importance of health education, which will benefit them in future. On the other hand, there are two advantages of studying a new language early. First, this helps in a child's brain development because learning new skills require different parts of the brain. Second, they will have more years to master it. If we look at the research data, kids who can speak different languages have greater cognitive abilities. For example, savants who are polyglot have almost perfect memory. Furthermore, the more you practice, the better you become. This is true for any skill, and kids who started learning early are at an advantage. To illustrate, mastering a new language takes around five to ten years, and those who started in secondary schools do not have enough time until they start searching for jobs. To conclude, even though the positives like cognitive development and mastery of a language are great, but the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. Kids should be encouraged to play sports, and parents should give them the time to understand things better.