Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society. with this opinion?

People argue that allowing police officers to be armed with guns would increase the rate of criminal violence in society. Personally, I totally disagree with this view. For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to argue that the possession of guns by police forces would lead to higher violence rate. Firstly, in reality, having such weapon would allow police to control criminal situations without using physical violence. As most people are frightened of guns, police can easily force suspects, wrongdoers or robberies to surrender and arrest them. Secondly, guns also deter potential criminals from committing crimes. For example, robberies who intend to rob the bank might think carefully before acting and probably give up if there is the presence of police officers equipped with firearms protecting there. Therefore, this policy would decrease the violence rate rather than increasing it. I am of the opinion that police officers should be entitled to own guns. The principal reason is that nowadays there is a significant increase in gun-related crimes, and it is difficult for police forces with sprays, batons, or electric shock weapons to tackle dangerous situations. This allows criminals to be more powerful, and police officers might be compelled to do what they want. The other reason is that the ownership of guns could not only be useful in legitimate self-defense situations but also help police forces protect the public. For example, when a policeman is threatened by escaping criminals or terrorists, he could shot these criminals so that they will no longer pose serious dangers to the community. In conclusion, I believe that guns possession by the police will not only decrease the number of violent criminals but also contribute to the protection of the public.