Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs.

There has been a division in many quarters as to what role a woman should play in a male denominated organisation. While some believe that both uniformed men and women in the armed forces should play equal roles, others think that a woman is not in any way meant for such occupation. In my opinion, I believe that distribution if duties should be based on the gender's capabilities. On the one hand, I believe that in order to prevent inequality, both sexes should have the same responsibilities. Since time immemorial, women have been clamouring for equal rights at work, therefore, in order to prevent a situation whereby the female sex feels looked down on or belittled it is essential that they are both awarded equal roles in the force. Besides, both parties knew what they were in for before applying for the job, there is, therefore, no need to set aside a special role for a man or woman. On the other hand, it is thought that military jobs could be more tasking and demanding for a woman. This is because some of the job descriptions of being an army officer sometimes involve going to war and a woman might not have the necessary strength required to carry out such operations. In a situation where a woman is enrolled for such, the probability of failing in such missions would be higher. For example, in the year 2000, the Nigerian Police Force enrolled twenty women to lead the war in the Sambisa forest in Kano State. The state recorded a massive failure of the mission because the female soldiers could not bear the long vigorous match to victory. This re-emphasizes the fact that not all jobs are suitable for both sexes. However, as convincing as both arguments seem, I believe distribution of duties in these fields should be based solely on the capability of the genders involved. That is to say, women should be given administrative roles they can easily perform, while the men should focus on more physically challenging tasks such as engaging in wars. In conclusion, while women might not be able to perform excellently in the armed forces, I believe that both both sexes should be given different ropes based on their capabilities.