Some people believe that humans should be able to use animals for their own benefit, while others argue that the rights of animals should be protected.

Many people think humans have the right to utilize animals for their own profit, others, in contrast, defend animal rights. In this essay, both views will be approached and I will explain why in my opinion, every specie is essential for the existence of the rest and consequently should be respected and protected. Those who support the use of animals for the benefit of humankind argue that animals are needed to investigate treatments prior to being applied to human beings. For example, many drugs were tested in mice and after being proven harmful to them, were not allowed to be used in people. Another argument put forward is that we must kill animals to survive. Children and teenagers, in this manner, need the proteins and iron from meat because vegetable sources of these are not good enough for their growth and development. On the other hand, those who think animals should be protected, believe that, no matter their size or order in the food chain, animals do feel pain and stress and deserve our respect and care. It is well proven that nonhuman species suffer and get ill, for example, when they lose a partner or become captive. Another important fact is that nonhuman species are essential for the equilibrium of nature. If mice, for instance, became extinct, many birds would turn into pests and ruin the crops. If there are not enough fresh vegetables, people might suffer from severe nutritional imbalances and diseases, such as scurvy. In conclusion, whereas it is thought by many that animals should be used in our benefit, I personally believe in defending animal rights. Nonhuman species have feelings just as we do, and are important for the maintenance of the world`s existence and survival. Everybody around the globe should, therefore, be thoughtful of animal rights and advocate for them.