In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem

It is true that people in most countries are facing an increase in living expenditure. The main problem this causes is high pressure on low-income citizens and the most viable solution is the adjustment of base salary to support them for basic needs. The principal problem associated with escalating living costs is poor people tend to be under pressure. Most of them struggle to pay for daily essentials like electricity, internet and fuel bills, which forces them to work harder and earn more money to cover their living expenses. In the long term, both their mental and physical health will be seriously affected, which can cause poor performance at work and the lack of happiness in life. According to a recent survey from Oxford University, over 65% of people in Africa admit that they are so worried that they do not have enough quality time for themselves due to the rising cost and limit income. To tackle this problem, the government should introduce the policy of rising base salary for the citizens. People are more likely to burn out when the costs increase because of their insufficient budgets. Therefore, a higher base salary can allow low-paid workers to be more affordable and less stressed to pay attention to the enjoyment of life. For instance, in Singapore, although the expenditure is high, poor families still enjoy an acceptable standard of living thanks to the new salary policy from the government. In conclusion, the rise in living costs in many nations is the major issue that results in exhaustion. However, it can be addressed by improving the base salary for all citizens.