Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

Hobbies are our way of relieving the mental pressure we encounter during our various personal or professional duties. These activities could vary from simple rituals such as solving a crossword puzzle, to much more complex events, like snorkelling. There are individuals who believe the more difficult a hobby is, the more enjoyable it will be. However, although I agree that some highly sophisticated activities are very much pleasurable, I do not think that simpler hobbies are less fun. The more complicated a hobby is, the more its sense of achievement will be. For example, the level of satisfaction people reach after a very long hiking trip to a faraway place which is hardly reachable, may be far more than one of watching a movie. This is due to two factors: the amount of time involved, and extent of physical and emotional involvement. The more time a person spends on an adventure, the more they will sense their desired sense of achievement will be when they reach their goal. Also, they will sense an emotional attachment to the journey and their fellows. This is applicable to all kinds of complex hobbies, for example video games, different kind of trips, sports and etc. On the other hand, often one can be fulfilled by much simpler acts. Reading, for example, has been a very popular hobby among all generations. The main reason activities such as watching a movie or walking cheer people up is they are not as tiresome as more complex ones. The person enjoying these kind of pastime does not have to put a plentiful physical effort to benefit from them. Thus, these activities are much more relaxing. Moreover, huge part of these hobbies do not need a great deal of time to take part, which makes them easily accessible in people's free times. Although not everyone might enjoy a part of these hobbies, they are undoubtedly enjoyed by a huge number of people. By the way of conclusion, the debate whether hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable or not seems never ending. Although the more complex entertainments such as video games are extremely enjoyable in many aspects, basic leisure activities could be highly fulfilling. Finally, I cannot agree that the level of difficulty should be the main deciding factor to assess a hobby.