Some people believe that governments must apply high taxes to provide good public services for everyone. Give your opinion.

Imposing taxes is how governments generate revenue they require to run the country. Although the common believe is that high tax rates are crucial for the betterment of public services, there are groups who would argue against this. This essay will demonstrate why taxing at a higher rate is necessary to ensure better public services for all, and to ensure proper wealth distribution in the society. The economic development of a country is dependent on the development of infrastructure such as roads, electricity, bridges etc. The government pays for these through the amount generated from taxes. By charging more taxes, authorities can ensure greater developments of public services. This is evident from the developed countries where they tax you more, but in return you get more in the forms of public services. While in developing countries, as you do not have to pay hefty taxes, you won’t get to enjoy better public services. High tax rates, thus serve to the overall development of the country. Taxes also play an important role in creating a balanced society through the distribution of wealth. Taxes are usually not imposed at a flat rate rather on an increasing rate as opposed to your wealth. That means, the wealthy people pay more tax than those of less fortunate. As tax is used for the betterment of all in the form of public services, this creates a better distribution of wealth within the society. To conclude, higher tax rates are co-related to better public services. However, taxing at an abnormally high rate may result in people losing interest in earning more, thus hurting the economy. In my opinion, the government should find perfect tax rates that appreciates economy, and also generates enough revenue for the public services.