Some people believe that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job. Others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience in stead. Discuss this both views and give your opinion

Although it is often thought by some that the assurance of getting a well paid job comes from a university degree. Others, however, believe that going directly into work and getting experience is better. In my opinion, I consider that it is better to get a university degree, as many skills needed for the job market can be acquired from there. On the one hand, some people think that a university degree equals high profile job and I agree. In other words, a university graduate stands a better chance at getting a great job as a result of the knowledge that has been harnessed from school. For instance, an illiterate can never be a medical doctor, as he or she won't have the required know-how to handle health issues. Furthermore, certain skills such as learning how to face confrontations, as well as constructive communication skills are learnt at college. These are very crucial to getting a fantastic job. On the other hand, others believe that going directly to work in order to gather experience is better. Most companies hire based on job experiences as against academic qualification. There are even cases where people end up not practising what they studied at school as a profession, but what they are good at. More so, the more time spent on a particular job determines the level of expertise. All these are put into consideration before any hiring process. In conclusion, despite people's varying opinions, I believe that getting a tertiary degree is a must for anyone who wishes to get a well respected job.