Some people believe that environmental problems can be solved by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

Environmental problem has become a major issue in both developed and undeveloped countries. Some individuals share the view that this problems can be reduced by raising the cost of petrol for cars and other vehicles. I strongly agree with this view because this would result in less cars on the road leading to less environmental hazards such as smoke inhalation and also lead to increase economy. Uplifting the cost of fuel for cars to reduce environmental problems would be a means to an end. In other words, this act will reduce the amount of individuals who can afford petroleum thereby reducing the number of cars on the road, thus reducing air pollution. Take for instance, in Nigeria, a liter of petrol is about 300 naira, which is above the minimum wage of most individuals in the country. This act alone has reduced the number of cars, which in turn has reduced the environmental problems in the country. In addition, increment of petroleum will also improve the economy of the country. Thus, improving the environment. Many countries have developed their economical status solely on the increase of petroleum and gas which in turn has decreased environmental hazards. Take for example, China, who in 2017, was recorded as the country with the ‘purest air to breathe’ by the World Health Organization. This was mainly achieved because the Chinese government increased fuel prices back in 2015 and these extra funds were diverted to other transportation systems which in directly reduced environmental hazards. If the government would raise the cost of fuel and divert the extra funds to other means of transportation this would reduce environmental problems. In conclusion, increment of fuel prices would aid in the eradication of environmental pollution which can be harmful to the health of the citizens as well as the globe as a whole.