Some people believe that environmental problems can be solved by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

Environmental problems like climate change and the greenhouse effect are increasingly becoming the topic in most conferences and forums. Although a school of thought to think that increasing fuel prices for automobiles would solve these problems, I strongly disagree with this view. This essay will argue that this option will not only negatively affect the cost of living of low-income earners, but also, it will be a wrong approach to solving climate change issues. Firstly, An increase in the pump price of fuels will result in an increase in transportation cost and in general, the cost of living in the society. Consequently, the average standard of living will drop. The rate of poverty is on the increase and many families struggle to put food on their tables. For instance, a man who currently earns less than required to sustain his family and is just getting by, will be pushed into depression and possibly suicide when he realizes his salary can no longer meet his family's needs. In addition, many companies will lose workers as their wages may not cover the cost of transportation to work. Secondly, there are other sources of energy that could be researched into for possibilities of replacing the use of fuels that affect our environment. These could be renewable sources like water and wind. Authorities should disburse funds to research centres and institutes enough to enable the scientists to work more to discover how hydro-power can be used in vehicles and other engines instead of atmosphere damaging fuels. For example, a climate change activist travelled from China to Geneva to attend the last climate change summit in Geneva using an emission-free boat. She did not need to join world leaders who came in private jets that further added to the problem they were supposedly going to discuss. In conclusion, all of humankind must take responsibility for the environment but definitely not at the expense of the people who barely make enough money to get by. Government and responsible agencies should seek other ways to rescuing our environment and ensure the world is safe again.