Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way their employees dress, but the quality of their work.

Over the past decades, employee welfare has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although The importance of dress code and appearance at workplaces has already been recognized and accepted, the issue as to whether a mandatory dress code should be abolished or maintained remains controversial. In my opinion, imposing a dress code in workplace is beneficial, crucial for the following reasons. Firstly, a dress code promotes a more serious working atmosphere. Some may argue that those who love dressing up and more comfortable wearing certain clothes with cuts and designs that fit their body build are uncomfortable with work uniforms. This argument could be true to some extent. However, they should take into account the fact that uniforms contribute significantly to the improvement of professionalism in organizations. For example, it is common that if female workers are not too conscious about what they wear, they can be victims of sexual harassment and even abuse. With dress codes, these things can be prevented or at least be mitigated. This example indicates that by putting some limitations on dressing up, male and female workers will be less distracted from their main tasks, thereby improving work performance and work productivity. Secondly, uniforms are compulsory on many occasions. the opponents may argue that employers should only pay attention the quality of work, not the performance of workers. However, those who are against work uniforms are ignorant of the fact that in many cases, wearing a uniform is a mandatory issue. For example, firefighters use heavily protected uniforms that protect them from flames and excessive heat. It also helps the citizen to recognize the employee. Such uniforms are specially designed and are validated and checked by the health and safety department of local governments. This example shows that in such highrisk cases, wearing a uniform is a must. In conclusion, the standardization of work uniforms has positive influence on work efficiency. Not only do they promote the professionalism but also bring safety as mentioned above.