Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers. Others think that it is dependent on the attitude of the students.

Opinions are divided as to which element is more important to achieving academic success. While some say good instructors play a crucial role, I would argue that the right minds of students are more important. Admittedly, excellent instructors recognize students’ weaknesses and provide specific instructions, thus helping learners achieve academic success. Good instructors are often experienced and possess expertise, which means that they have a better chance of telling people what should be done to improve their academic scores. In other words, these instructors could assist learners in finding their flaws that might be overlooked or ignored by themselves, and then design courses that are tailored to students’ need, helping students form a better understanding of how to improve their academic performance. Following these instructions step by step, students are more likely to reach their academic goals than study at their own pace. In spite of the above argument, I believe that students’ attitudes are more important when it comes to academic achievements. Firstly, students may disagree with teachers’ judgement and evaluations, and then disobey rules or behave aggressively in the classroom on purpose, which may bring chaos and ruin the study atmosphere. In addition, when pupils have resistance to certain subjects due to laziness or dislike, teachers’ knowledge may not be appreciated. For example, if students hate studying math, a knowledgeable math professor can be completely ignored. That is to say, teachers’ efforts are valueless unless students enjoy the process of learning. In conclusion, teachers can guide students to get academic attainments, but such a guidance would be useless unless students have a positive opinion toward it.