With the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on environment? What can be done to solve the problem?

It has become easier than ever to travel to various countries because of the wide availability of flights. An increasing number of people travel by air these days, causing a significant influx of new airway companies, which in turn led to an increase in the number of flights. This scenario has a whole lot of effects on our environment such as air pollution and disturbance to birds which fly at high altitudes. To begin with, the carbon and chemical exhaust from the planes contaminates the surroundings. This contamination is very huge when we consider the dramatic rise in the number of planes in the past decade. In turn, these emissions are responsible for the rise of the temperatures of the earth and are a main cause of global warming. In other words, this is not only affecting the environment, but also everyone in it. Secondly, the migratory birds and eagles which fly in the sky are at high risk because of the increase in air traffic. These birds often get killed, especially during certain periods of the year. Also, the radio signals from the plane disrupt their communication. The sharp decline in the population of these birds is definitely related to the rise in flights. A recent survey by The Michigan Science University found out that the disturbances caused by planes to these birds are at a rise in the past two years. Strict measures need to be taken to curb these effects because of which the whole ecological balance is at risk. Firstly, all airlines should look at the parameters such as the occupancy of the flight and reduce the number of flights. Also, it is their responsibility to try to reduce the related exhausts by servicing the engines frequently. In addition, there should be measures in place to control the air traffic at least during the migratory phase of the birds. There should be a considerable effort towards developing new technology to tackle these problems efficiently, and to restore the balance to the ecosystem. In conclusion, although the after effects of increased planes cannot be fully compensated, they need our immediate attention to avoid further worsening. Hence, the solutions suggested above should be implemented to avoid the ecological imbalance and air pollution.