Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

It is argued by some that children's free time spent on extra-curricular activities is an absolute waste of time. In my opinion, I disagree that the time spent on these activities is useless because such activities offer benefits which are indispensable for the holistic growth of our children. To begin with, non-educational activities play an important role in children’s mental and physical growth. Physical activities like sports actively engage children’s mind and body which make them mentally and physically healthy and strong. As a result, they are able to perform well in their education as well. To exemplify, it is often observed that the children who participate regularly in any outdoor sport, are found performing tremendously well in their studies. In addition, children who play in team sports such as cricket, football, or hockey, develop coordination, quick decision making, and team working skills which are very useful in their future. Moreover, there are some extra-curricular activities which help children to discover their hidden talents or even passions. For example, acting, drawing, painting, reading, writing or playing a musical instrument allows children to explore their creativity which they cannot while only studying. According to a research published by Harvard University, children who learn to play a musical instrument in their childhood, the chances of development of the both sides of their brains are significantly increased, which makes them more creative and ingenious. Furthermore, extra-curricular improve children's cognition and behaviour as they are a great way for children to release stress. These activities also enable them to free up their mind and enjoy the moment without any worries for their studies. In conclusion, extra-curricular activities are not a waste of children's time. They are essential for children's overall growth and allow them to explore their hidden creativity and ingenuity.