some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

It is a greatly debatable topic whether children’s leisure activities should be educational or not. As far as I am concerned, I completely disagree with this argument and below I will elucidate the reasons for my standing. Firstly, society today is advancing at a very fast pace as a consequence there is a high competition in the society. In order to keep up with the competitive world it is the children who are pressurized the most. Not only they are required to study hard but at the same time they are also forced learn other skills from a very young age. Parents constantly put pressure on their children to perform better in their studies so that in future they could take admission in the best of the university and eventually earn good salaries. As such, living in a constant state of pressure has taken a toll on the lives of the children. Much research in the field suggest that 70 percent of the children between the age of 9 to 16 are struggling with mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety. The figures are quite alarming as it shows how the children, who are apparently the future of our nation, are slowly drowning in the fast-moving world. Given that, I would strongly condemn that leisure activities should have an educational base to them. I believe that leisure activities should be such that allows the child to rejuvenate themselves. Even adults intentionally undertake a leisurely activity every now and then so that they down have a breakdown due to their hectic lifestyle. To quote an example, I once had developed mild depression due to the hectic life style that I have had. Therefore, the only advice that doctor gave to me was to keep myself occupied in activities that I liked. As a consequence, I started going out with my friends to party and other places that made me happy and within a period of 6 months I completely came out of depression. This example shows the activities that I undertook to please myself were not educational, yet they were beneficial and taught me how to be happy. In conclusion, it is not necessary that a leisurely activity has an educational outcome, what’s more important is for it to be enjoyable. It is not a waste just because there is no educational value to it, rather it provides one of the most important lessons, experience.