Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, children’s education takes priority over everything else to their parents. Which is why educational leisure activity is the rallying cry of many parents. However, in my view, leisure hours should be authentically recreational. This is because genuine recreation facilitates children’s overall development. First and foremost, children can learn through play. In particular, they can develop motor and cognitive skills through games and sports they play. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, children can be taught by playing, particularly when they are very young and are still improving important cognitive and motor skills. So if parents think that their children will learn only if they study or do serious activities during their free time, it is a misguided idea. Secondly, an authentic recreation like sports can enhance all-round fitness and it helps relieve stress. A good chunk of study discovers that the lack of sports time affects children’s emotional development, resulting in the rise of depression, anxiety and problems of attention. Apart from that, sports improve physical fitness, which in turn decreases the risk of many diseases. Furthermore, sports are good for the body in aiding to enhance children’s immune system. Last but not least, authentic recreational activities boost the learning attitude. By this, I mean that these activities are meant to fun, which in turn stimulates the children’s interest and joy in learning. Many child psychologists suggest that children ought to be allowed to spend quality time in authentic recreational activities. All things considered, it seems reasonable to draw the conclusion that authentic leisure activities are far more important, and not a waste of time. Therefore, parents should indulge children with pleasurable activities that are crucial for their all-round development.