Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves.

TV channels ought to stop viewing adverts that are aimed at children. I completely agree with this statement as advertisements negatively influence children and encourage them to live unhealthy and materialistic lives. The main reason why children advertisements are bad is because children are easily influenced. Children cannot make decisions by themselves and cannot distinguish between good and bad products, unlike adults. As a consequence, they are attracted to any advertisement that is colourful and beautiful and they become interested in any new item that targets them. For instance, most children would want to buy a new toy if their favourite cartoon character was in the advert. As a result, they start pestering their parents to buy them these products and toys even if they cannot afford it. Governments must ban all children advertisements because they are detrimental to children. Many companies advertise their fast food to children and make it look as attractive as possible. This can be exemplified by McDonald’s Happy Meal that comes with a new toy every month to encourage children to buy it. As a result, children become addicted to fast food and suffer from obesity and health problems at such a young age. Furthermore, this development impacts the whole family since they must all eat fast food with their children at restaurants. Another problem is that due to the excessive exposure to adverts, children can become materialistic as they would start thinking that acquiring new objects is all there is to life. As a result, they grow into adults who value money and new items above anything else. In conclusion, the serious consequences of advertising to children must be recognized and, therefore, they must be banned from televisions and other media.