Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves.

Parenting plays a crucial role in the development of a child. Some claim that children should do only what their parents have told them to do, whereas, others think they should be their own decision maker. I personally believe that listening to their guardians is important, but being able to think and act independently is far more crucial. To begin with, the main reason to listen to parents is that the young mind is too immature. Children are not mature enough to decide what is right and what is wrong, and most of the time they end up choosing the negative side because at that age they are attracted to do such things and thus spoil their life. For example, a global research group conducted a few tests among 9 to 16 year olds by asking a few questions. It was shown that 85% of the kids were prone to making wrong choices. So, for this reason, parental supervision of children is beneficial. However, too much of this is going to ruin the child’s ability to tackle situations on their own. On the flip side, following one’s own judgment builds individuality which is a much needed quality in life. The constant involvement of parents during the growing up years of a child may make them incapable of fixing their own issues when they grow up. Furthermore, individuality builds confidence in children and makes them capable of standing up for their own and achieve greater heights in life. It is a proven fact that children who stood for themselves are more successful in future than, who did not. This proves why it is important for children to listen to themselves. To recapitulate, although obeying parental commands are going to help you in making right choices, it will ruin your goals, if you do that for too long. Hence, every younger person should follow their own judgment for their better future.