Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school.

It is believed that watching TV is a better method for children to gain knowledge effectively, and hence, some people contend that children should be allowed to watch TV both at home and school. Personally, I do not agree with this argument. On the one hand, it is true that TV is one of the prime sources of data and information. By watching TV, children can develop skills in extra-curriculum activities. However, spending too much time on TV would cause the negative impaction on children’s imagination. This is because children get used to accepting the content showed through the TV screen. For example, if a kid has watched Snow White’s movie, it will be difficult for him to create his own image when he read the book about Snow White, since he has already memorized the pictures. In addition, through TV children can get in touch with those restrictive programs not allowed for their ages, and therefore, this can have major psychological consequences. On the other hand, only relying on watching TV can lead to worse communicating skills. This is because in this way they unilaterally accept the information given by TV. For example, in class students can interact with teachers and give feedback on what they have learnt. What’s more, students are not able to learn effectively by watching TV. This is because children’s self-control may not be as good as expected. Children get addictive to their favorite programs like Cartoon channels, or baseball and easily get distracted from study during exam period and this can seriously impact their grades. In conclusion, watching TV is not an effective way for children to get knowledge, since it would leave negative consequences.