University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying overseas, as a part of their degree, is becoming the new trend among university students. While studying in another country never comes for free and this could cost them an arm and a leg, it adds to the knowledge of the students’ big time. Moreover, the chance of learning a new language while studying abroad is a cherry on top. In my opinion, the gains from studying in a foreign university, by far, outdo its drawbacks and this essay will show why. The greatest benefit of studying abroad is that it acts as a platform that provides the students with the knowledge, be it general or academic, that is rather new and novel to them. While the local institutes in their motherland would inculcate the orthodox and, perhaps, outdated teachings in them; the foreign university gives them a deep insight into their academic subjects, driving them to adopt different techniques of solving their profession-related problems. For example, when I was in America as a twenty-year-old student of medicine, I was equally baffled and mesmerised by how, at the same time, the hospitals and the health care system in America and Pakistan were an ultra-paradox to each other. In fact, I gained immense clinical knowledge and developed a multitude of health care skills that I would never have acquired had I not chosen to study for a year in America. Studying abroad could prove to be a divine fountain of foreign and up-to-date knowledge for university students. Secondly, while university students are in a foreign land, they have a golden opportunity of learning a new language knocking at their door. Though it might be challenging at first but linguistic hurdle, once conquered, helps students step out of the comfort zone of their mother tongue. For example, I harnessed my spoken English fluency and the efforts bore fruits; I had started to speak as aboriginal as a native American! The truth be told, it was hard at first and shyness got the better of me, but I slowly overcame this impediment. Students, while living away from their country, have this chance of adding a new language to their linguistic prowess. While there are many benefits, one can not ignore the grave reality that studying abroad is inarguably very expensive! The university fee and apartment rents only keep on multiplying. A hard pill to swallow, in order to meet their expenses, many students are seen taking up part-time jobs such as working as waiters, cleaners, taxi-drivers etc They might fall into the vicious cycle of never-ending debts. For example, when I was studying in America, to pay my monthly bills, I had to work for long hours as a waiter on weekends, which, as a matter of fact, was never an easy job to do. Living in a foreign country might put an overwhelming burden on the students’ financial resources. Even though the university students face financial challenges while studying abroad, they get to acquire the knowledge that they had never learnt before. Also, learning a new language can be tough, but never fruitless. Thus, according to my point of view, studying overseas is more advantageous to the university students rather than being disadvantageous.