How far do a teacher's responsibilites extend? Are they only accountable for the academic training of their students or should they also care about their socialization? For example, should they interfere when they see their children not getting along? Support your opinions with examples, reasons and explanation.

Time and again people have stressed the importance of education, stating that it is the cornerstone upon which lies not only an individual’s welfare, but the welfare of society as a whole. As a result of this, all attention falls on the competency of teachers and their roles as educators. Though many limit teachers’ responsibilities to teaching students academic facts based on a given syllabus, others claim that teaching staff should be involved with character development issues such as socialization, something which find me in agreement. A first reason why teachers should concern themselves with matters other than basic academic training is because it is necessary to foster a healthy classroom environment, conducive to learning. If students are having trouble socializing properly, this may create disciplinary issues that would interfere with the smooth running of a lesson. To illustrate this point, supporters of this more holistic approach to teaching bring up instances where student feuds create tension or even open verbal abuse, both of which disrupt the spirit of openness and cooperation with each classroom should have. Secondly, teachers and students are human beings and as such inhabit in a society based on mutual understanding and collaboration. A school should be no different than a society in this sense. One simply cannot separate academic and life skills training from one another, and students should not stop being individuals without needs and feelings the minute they step inside a classroom. Additionally, since team work will most likely to be a prerequisite skill needed in a job, it must be taught in school as well, and who better to do this than a teacher who shows interest his or her students’ interpersonal relationships. Contrary to this, those who advocate the limited responsibilities of teachers point out the presence of school councillors who have been specially trained in their specific fields, but not in children’s psychology. Yet they are quick to criticize. Teachers are merely going to step in and offer assistance or bring students in line with the rules of the classroom, something which does not require specialist knowledge. Beside this, if a situation is felt to be more complex and instructor sees it getting out of hand, then students could be referred to the student counsellor.