Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school.

It is often argued that the TV programs could help children learning process much faster, so parents and teachers should motivate and let their children to watch TV in either school or home. In my opinion, I completely disagree with learning through TV could lead into a better success and should not be introduced more. First of all, only a few educational TV programs are helpful for children and all of them are a long duration film. In other words, the knowledge for children to absorb for the same amount of time are just a few compared to the conventional study, such as reading books and doing homeworks. Even though children are more motivated by animated pictures, but it would turn out to be an inefficient and a waste of time. For example, one of the most popular program in the past for learning purpose was 'Are You Smarter than A Fifth Grader' which is about a competition between a bunch of fifth grader and adults by answering science and mathematics problems. It was an our duration program for every episode and the questions were quite abstract whether it is for a fifth grade or a first grade. That's why, it's more ineffective and inefficient to study using Television. Secondly, despite the perspective of each individual about how TV could lead in a more effective learning, the disadvantages are still outweighing the benefits. The purpose of each program on Television is to provide entertainment for the audiences. So, there are a lot of possibilities for youngsters to misused TV for just entertainment and finally become overly addicted to it. Due to the fact that both parents and teachers could not possibly monitor the children every moment. Thus, learning from TV could be very dangerous and lead into a bad habit for children. In conclusion, watching TV for educational purpose is not considered good in many ways because of the inefficient amount of time and issues afterwards.