Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i. e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Grouping children at secondary level according to ability is favoured by some people over classes with different ability levels. While there may be some advantages to this approach, I personally think that the drawbacks of streaming outweigh the benefits. The main benefit of streaming is that pupils of all abilities will benefit through being taught at a pace that suits their level. If, for example, pupils are struggling with a chemistry lesson, the teacher can go at a slower pace and vice versa for higher-level pupils. Some people also argue that mixed-ability classes disadvantage students at both extremes of ability, as it is easier to teach a class who are all of the same ability level. From the teacher’s point of view, everything is aimed at the pupils in the middle-ability range. Having said that however, I feel that streaming children at secondary level is harmful. The main drawback is that if children are not taught in mixed-ability classes, it does not prepare them for the real world they will encounter in the future. This could then hold them back and reduce their career opportunities considerably. Streaming can also disadvantage children, because it is possible that children will be labelled wrongly and their potential not realized. Unless there is some competition in the classroom as in mixed-ability classrooms, the children will not be stretched. This can then have a negative impact on children’s attitude to learning and to school in general, resulting in a decline in pupils’ attainment. As we have seen, there are both advantages and disadvantages involved in streaming pupils at secondary level, but, in my opinion, the latter outweigh the former.