Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work.

Many people think that modern children have an abundance of free time and doing more school work in their free time is necessary. As parents, being concerned about children's grades and studies is natural but overpressuring them to study and get top grades might backfire. Children's leisure activity should be fun yet interesting which will eventually teach them important lessons and make them more creative. Schoolwork is definitely important. But if children are forced to study all day long without having enough time for recreation or refreshment, it will increase their stress level and negatively affect their physical and cognitive development in later stages of their lives. I believe, free time means a child should be allowed to do things that our of their normal routine. For children, it can be playing sports in the playground or a park with other kids of their age. This will teach them how to be a team player and enhance their social skills. They can also play educative video games for a few minutes and watch cartoon shows. Besides, practising a hobby sounds impressive to me. For this, a family should be open-minded and try to find the hidden talents of their offsprings. I believe that not all children are born with particular talents. It is our duty as parents, teachers and relatives who motivate them and engaging them in extracurricular activities such as drawing, dancing, singing etc are also necessary. We have to understand that an unsocial adolescent with good academic grades cannot make much impact on our society and cannot climb the professional success. In conclusion, even though studying and preparing for exams is very important for the future of a child, we should not enforce them to be occupied with it all the time. Instead, various social, fun and creative activities in free time will make them more prepared for the future.