Junk food is quite harmful to our generation and we need an educated generation to stop it. Is education the answer to stop people from eating junk food?

Junk food has been claimed to be a fundamental factor to the escalating obesity epidemic around the world. Some argue that educating the society is an optimal solution to alleviate this worldwide issue. However, it is believed that persuading citizens through education is not likely to outweigh the central temptations that junk foods offer – its low price and convenience. This statement will be analysed in the following paragraphs, supported by relevant examples. Regardless of how the educational scheme is provided, the low priced meals sold by fast food outlets are not likely to lose its popularity. Most of the members of the low class or unemployed students, for instance, are inevitably attracted to eating cheap fast food due to their financial difficulties. Thus, unless governments subsidise citizens' living expenses or intervene to forcedly raise fast food price, education will have a feeble effect on discouraging people from consuming junk food. In addition, it should be noted that there is no practical substitution for junk food which can be prepared and sold quickly. This choice of diet perfectly fulfils modern workers' need to save time in the busy contemporary society. For example, even though my colleagues are aware of the negative aspects of junk food, they still eat from KFC since they simply do not have time to prepare a proper meal. This therefore clearly demonstrates that eradicating junk food consumption through education is not a realistic approach, but merely an action of informing people about what they already know. In conclusion, although one may think that educating individuals can convince people not to eat fast food, its low price and ability to offer a quick meal will continuously motivate them to visit fast food stores.