Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school.

As the result of globalisation it has become increasingly useful to be able to speak another language. Many believe that elementary school children should be though another language, whereas others believe that this will only be impactful at a later stage. Both views will be discussed before an opinion is made. A major reason for many educators to believe that primary students should learn a foreign langue, is due to they're developing brain. By learning a language at a younger age, children are able to grasp the language faster. It has been scientifically proven that learning an alternative dialect is more futile at this age. Furthermore, a child’s interest is at their peak during this time period, therefore by learning a new language at this age they will in turn gain an interest in continuing the language. However, on the other hand, others believe that the time used to learn a language can be better spent to introduce more important subjects, such as: literature, maths and science. Although, languages are advantageous in the future, it is essential that all children have their basics in maths and sciences. These skills are the foundation of their higher educational studies. In addition, by introducing an extra subject, it increases the school day and in turn results in students, especially younger ones, to become demotivated and lose interest in class. In conclusion, although learning a language at a younger age might be advantageous in the future, it takes away from subjects which are needed for every higher educational institute. Therefore, I believe that another language should be introduced in secondary school.