People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and society?

An increasing concern for many people around the world is that sleep deprivation. The causes of this phenomenon are varied and have led to a wide range of effects on human life. In this essay, I will outline why sleep deficiency is occurring and discuss the impacts it can have on people. From an overall perspective, one of the main causes of the problem is that cutting-edge technological advance such as the high-speed internet, gaming computers, and modern smartphones. These devices are giving people, especially young adults, a lot of fun like surfing websites, playing almost real 3D games, and chatting with friends for many hours, reducing sleep hours considerably. Secondly, today the society is becoming more competitive. By this I mean people have become busier than ever before in order to suffer from this competition and live happy and well. The results of sleep deficiency are numerous and potentially serious. Perhaps the most serious consequence is that insomnia. According to the study conducted by the American National Health Center, if one is being lacked sleep for more than two weeks, it will affect his entire body negatively and growing risks to get insomnia. A second consequence is that health problems, especially mental health problems. For example, the study showed that last year (by 2018) more than 10 million adolescents addicted to a mobile game named ‘PUBG’ and they had sleep deficiency, which in turn leads to hurt their mental health. To recapitulate, sleep deprivation is an issue which will continue to demand our attention for the foreseeable future, due to the reasons such as technological advances and competitive community.