Some people believe that advertising has a strong effect on a person’s decision-making process. Others feel that it has little or no real impact.

The development of businesses has given a rise to the growing number of advertisements that can be seen in streets, media and in everywhere. Now, there is a hot debate that whether advertising has influence on people’s decisions or not any considerable effect. In my opinion, the former view is well-founded, yet the latter seems to be rather unreasonable. One the one hand, the proponents of the perspective that advertising does not play an essential role during decision making, claim that commercials and advertisements only provide useful details regarding the newly launched products as well as apprise the people about the range of choices they have. Therefore, individuals consider and analyse all the variants that are offered to them by advertising agencies and make their own decisions by themselves. That is why they advocate the viewpoint that commercial do not impact on their opinions since these agencies utilize advertisements with the intention of raising their brand awareness amongst customers. However, others, including me, believe that the commercials have an indisputable effect on our thoughts. As an obvious example to this argument, if cosmetics products are advertised with an infamous person, surely the company could not reach to the great deal of customers regardless of the quality of its products. On the other hand, if the commercial agency would use the image of celebrities on its commodities, then it would lead to massive purchasing by customers and enhance the selling figures. To be more specific, from the basic celebrity endorsement example, it could be inferred that people’s decisions are flexible and could be influenced by employing famous people for stimulating the clients to buy the products. To sum up, while some people argue that the advertising corporations do not impact on their decisions, I totally feel that these companies have quiet powerful influence on our minds.