Some people believe online reading material should only be used for a cild to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used.

Some argue that online reading is an effective way to teach young children how to read while the rest are of the opinion that traditional hard bound books serve the purpose much better. This essay would discuss both the views and accordingly shall prove that printed study books are best to teach nursing students to read. Some people are of the view that online reading is beneficial as this method is very interactive and would help the young learn reading, faster. However, the constant staring at the screen would put a lot of stress on the eyes of younger counterparts. Studies by the WHO has revealed that 40% of school going children are forced to use glasses as their eyesight had been weakened due to excessive use of smartphones and tablets. Hence, online reading is not beneficial as it may hamper with the vision of the pupils. On the other hand, the age old printed books serve as the best reading material as it helps the student focus on the literature. Unlike the screens, which project light from behind and hampers the cognitive ability, it does not cause any problems in concentration and also puts no strain on the eyes of the reader. Amazon, during the WWDC 2018 Conference, stated that they have seen a spike in the sales of physical books versus that of e-books suggesting that users are moving away from electronic books. Many successful people have stated reading as a key factor in their success story and incorporating the habit from a young age is crucial. This essay has discussed both the sides of the argument and concludes, with evidence, that using printed books for teaching the pupils to read is a better way than using online or electronic content.