Some people believe online learning materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used.

Nowadays, education institutions can provide some options for society about the way we teach a child to read effectively. Two methods for this learning process are by harnessing the advancement of technology to create online learning materials or using a traditional approach, namely printed material. This essay will highlight the benefit and drawbacks of both methods. With regards to online learning, the crucial advantage of this modern way is it can visualize the learning content attractively. The reason for this is the technology in our gadget is possible to blend the learning process and animation that can entertain early age people. As a result, it will be much easier to increase their eagerness to learn, and finally, they can accelerate reading skills exponentially. Unlike with printed materials, learning content tends to be plain, and consequently, our child will get bored to learn even before starting it. As for printed materials, the most significant benefit of this paper-based method is that the materials are much cheaper than online learning. Everyone can learn to read in affordable materials without worrying about the gadget that they have to provide before. In contrast with online learning, people that can facilitate dedicated gadget for their child to learn to read is only for the wealthier ones. The side effect of this approach in the social perspective is that there is a huge reading skill gap between a particular rich group and unwealthy people. To sum up, although each approach has their advantage in attractiveness for online learning and lower price for printed materials, I tend to apply the online learning approach as long as educational institutions can mitigate the negativity of online learning impact to people.