Television is a tool that can be used to learn. Therefore, children should be encouraged to watch it regularly at home and school.

Televisions around the world have become a sources of entertainment, as well as of education. Many would argue that it can be used a tool for learning by the young and should be allowed to watch on a regular basis at home and schools. I would somewhat disagree with the notion of it being a tool of learning because no matter how good of a source it can be for the students, it is not the only way to learn and without any supervisions over its consumption, may cause more harm than good. Everyone would agree that students can learn about Science and Technology, Wildlife and many more things by watching informational channels like Discovery Channel, National Geographic Channel, or Animal Planet etc. Secondly students can watch local or national news channels which would help them understand what is going on around the world and moreover can enhance their cognitive ability by watching debates over television. Furthermore, the pupils can also understand and witness the diverse culture of their country as well as of other nations by enjoying the cultural events that aired. On the contrary, consuming excessively over the screen may hamper their ability to concentrate and may lead to strain on the eyes, or worse, due to constant staring at the it. Along with educational programs available from the wide spectrum of shows, there are few contents which the young counterparts must not be exposed to. Television shows dealing with a lot of violence and adultery may affect the young minds, for the worse. In conclusion, considering televisions as the effective source of learning would be wrong as there are more effective ways of learning things such as reading books, interacting with fellow classmates and others, and getting mentored from teachers at school. Additionally without proper parental guidance the machine may prove to be harmful than good.