Some people believe it is important to give gifts and presents to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show affection to them.

Expressing love towards our loved ones is extremely important. While some people think that giving gifts is the best way to do this since materials are the only way to show love, others think respect is a better way. I think we can do this by following both approaches partially. We often express love and care by giving materials on different occasions such as birthdays and marriage anniversaries. In many societies, the economic value of a gift is also considered to measure the extent of love. For example, in Punjabi weddings, mothers often gift gold jewelry to their daughters as an expression of love. If they fail to give this gift, the society sees this as a sign of broken relationships. Similarly, birthdays are occasions to give presents to fulfill long pending wishes. While a boy may expect his parents to gift him a cricket kit to play the game at a professional level, a girl wants them to present a dress for a party. Merely expressing love through a hug is not sufficient. On the other hand, sometimes a gift is not desirable to show care. Instead, it destroys the innocence of relationships. An old parent, for example, does not need a gift from her children but the warmth of relationships. She wants them to live with her, cook her some food, and talk to her regularly. Merely giving her a gift and then staying away from her is not sufficient. In many cultures, such as Indian and Japanese, touching an elder’s feet is more important than giving a gift occasionally. In conclusion, I think that while giving presents is important on special occasions to show love and care, we need to care personally by serving others in day-to-day life. Both are important and we need to strike a balance between the two approaches.