Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

In recent decades, traffic congestion has been increasing in many countries, causing some public controversy. Although some people argue that the best way to deal with this problems is building and widening roads, I still believe that government investment in constructing more rail and subway networks would be more effective. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why building more road can alleviate road congestion. First, since personal incomes have been greatly improved, especially in urban areas, more and more people can buy personal vehicles such as cars and motorbikes. Therefore, in order to adapt to the increase in the number of vehicles, constructing more new roads is imperative. Second, there is growing volume of traffic not only in cities but also countrysides. If governments do not invest to broader and create new roads, the issue of traffic jams would inevitably be exacerbated. On the other hand, it is more effective to build more rail and subway lines. It is clear that nowadays many people travel to work from the suburbs to centre cities. By building trains and subway systems in suburban areas, citizens in these areas would give up their personal vehicles like cars as the train is faster and more convenient. In addition, it is not easy to build new roads as land is rarely available to enable the construction. The metro network, for instance, would be the practical solution because it was built underground. In conclusion, I believe that governments should prioritize investing in rail and metro lines rather than building more and widening roads. Administrations around the world should encourage citizens using public transports to reduce traffic congestion.