Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

While it can be argued that fun should be part of schools more, another opinion is that schools should serve the only purpose of imparting education. I agree with the latter view because pupils are already having one day a week as for entertainment in most of the schools and they have plenty of time after school to enjoy entertaining activities. Perhaps the main reason why I am not in favor of the idea of students having more time for entertainment at schools is that most of the institutes are already providing a designated slot of entertainment - be it sports, arts, or theatre. A good illustration of this is the school from where I had studied - The Cathedral High school, where we were supposed to have bi-weekly games, arts, and theater periods; as a result, we never felt a need for extra entertainment. Further, unlike in the past, schools today tend to organize excursions more often which is good entertainment. However, the more students focus on studies in educational sectors, the more competent workforce will be produced and, in turn, the country will be prosperous. Despite these arguments, there are also some other reasons to agree with the idea of schools to stick to their only purpose (education) is that students have ample time to entertain themselves after school by being engaged in different activities such as hanging out with family or friends. In addition, they can play outdoor sports like soccer or cricket or roam around with their pets to entertain themselves; hence, there is no need for more time for entertainment in the school. Besides, in the contemporary world, pedagogical experts are adopting the methodologies to teach students in such an efficient way that the home works are being omitted from the school system; therefore, students after getting off from the school can have enough time for the entertainment. In conclusion, although numerous people are in favor of the schools to extend the entertainment span for the children, I believe students should only focus on studies at school and they can enjoy different activities after school time.