Some believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Quality education for children is considered to hold immense importance for all parents. Although, there are two different narratives, one believes that homework is necessary for a school student whereas, other contemplates coursework should not be given. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and share my opinion. To begin with, homework consumes energy and time of pupils from taking part in after-school extracurricular activities, essential to keep students mentally and physically strong. If students spend most of their time working on assignments and cramming class notes, undoubtedly, they will not have any competitive advantage while applying for higher studies. For example, in US, many universities have assigned certain percentage for students participating in additional activities in schools. Therefore, school educators should develop courses in such a way that students complete their work in their institute premises within dedicated time. On the contrary, many individuals think otherwise, arguably true in many contexts, that homework help students revise the lecture taught in the class. As number of subjects with different topics are taught in a day, it puts undue pressure on students to memorise everything. For example, a study by Stanford University explained that homework in many ways helped students cover topics they missed in the class. Surely, school assignments prove beneficial for pupils which facilitate them to efficiently improve their grades. However, in my opinion, if both these narratives are balanced wisely, it will have a positive impact on students. Dedicate couple of hours after school for revision as this will provide comprehensive time for students to indulge in other activities. Moreover, it will be a win-win situation for both students and their future. To conclude, homework and extracurricular activities should be parallel to each other and if one is repeatedly ignored, its repercussions will yield innumerous problems for students.