Some people argue that it is parents’ duty to teach their children to be good members of the society. Others, however, disagree with this statement and opine that children should learn this from their school and teachers should play the vital role to prepare them as ideal members of society.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to whether the parents or teachers in the school have the responsibility to teach children to be good citizens. Therefore, we will examine both sides of the issues in this essay. Undoubtedly, parents have an indispensable role in guiding their children when they are small to the right path towards their future lives. It is proven that children are more influenced by their parents than anyone else. They will think that what their parents do is always right, thus parents are advisable to be an excellent role model for their children. Parents, for example, could teach them the good moral values through storytelling. It is not only will benefit the individuals themselves but a society as well. Nevertheless, teachers should do their part well in school by teaching the children what are the good values. Children nowadays spend most of their daytime in school, so teachers have the most important obligation to make sure the children turn out to be a well-behaved member of society. It is encouraged that teachers should punish the students whenever they make mistakes such as fighting in school. By doing this, the students will know that fighting is a bad behaviour and they may change their way of behavioural and it can also act as a deterrent to other students. Besides, teachers can also emphasise the importance of being a good individual in terms of behaviour while teaching. In conclusion, both parents and teachers in the school are responsible for ensuring their children to behave mannerly when they are young.