Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. with this statement?

Some individuals opine that governments should spend money on public services rather than on arts like paintings and music, which are a waste of money. I am in complete agreement with this statement because the welfare and development of people should be the prime concern for the government. Firstly, Many countries reported shortage of funds to fulfil the needs for better welfare of people. In other words, these nations are not economically strengthened enough to meet the needs of the people and to provide better public services for their citizens. Consequently, spending the funds on the civic issues and betterment of public services is the noble way. For instance, in 2011 North Korea spent a record share of their country's annual budget on the arts despite being on the bottom list in decent public service provider chart all over the world, inevitably, causing an unrest among the people. Secondly, The other reason for my opinion is the lack of the meteoric rise in the development. That is to say, governments are not concentrating on modernization of the villages and small towns such as improvements in infrastructure, roads, and transportation. Apparently, a better way of living for these people unfolds distinct opportunities for people, which might not be seen the light if not for the development of their area. For example, a report in The Guardian stated that, the UK has seen an astonishing rise of opportunities for their people when they spend their significant share of annual money on the development of their villages instead on the arts. In conclusion, I completely agree that spending money on arts such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should use that for public services.